arnoldo garcía: forgetfulness blues

 

IMG_0102

I wasn’t born here

I wasn’t born here

And no way do I wanna die here

I don’t forget tomorrow
I don’t forget yesterday
I don’t forget time and the boss’s scoldings
I don’t forget your shadow

I can’t forget your scars
I can’t forget the weariness of being without you
I remember
I remember
every sliver of love & tenderness
every drop of sweat making love to you
every hour I have worked to pay for living away from you

I wasn’t born here
I wasn’t born here
And no way do I wanna die here

I don’t forget your trampled mouth
I don’t forget the dusty rain
I don’t forget the horizon of your body
I don’t forget your guerrilla hands

I can’t forget the laughter
I can’t forget the drunken joy of being home
I remember
I remember
every child born of our embrace
every land that ripened from our hands
every step I took that led me away from you

I wasn’t born here
I wasn’t born here
And no way do I wanna die here

I don’t forget how to return
I don’t forget how to remember how we used to be
I don’t forget where my mother buried my soul

I can’t forget that I wasn’t born here
I can’t forget that I don’t wanna die here
I remember
I remember…

Leave a Reply

